The Roads Were Like Rivers. Muddy Firebreaks in Point Washington State Forest.

Posted: May 13, 2012 in Trail Reports, Updates

I was very excited to get out and do some more exploring on the bike today, but then there was this…

The trouble was, it only got worse as the morning progressed. Finally it cleared up enough, that I thought it safe to go ride the rolling lightning rod…

I decided to come at a trail I found yesterday, from the other side, and this is what it looked like…

But once again, you sometimes have to stop and appreciate the little things…

When I went through this trail before, it was dry.

Climbing a mountain of sand…

Yet another natural community inside this one block of state forest…

A raised access road along a drainage ditch.

The afore mentioned ditch…

More stopping to admire the little things…

The rain really raised some of the local water levels…

This is a service road, turned river. Look at the flow of water at the top of the image…

It got deep in a few places. Sure, they’re forestry service roads, but I’m glad I don’t have to take the wildland fire truck through this…

I knew I would find some higher ground eventually, since for the half mile or more of walking/pushing the bike, that I did, the water was always flowing towards me. Well, higher ground was found!

I could put wet trails behind me, for the time being.

This was a pretty sight. It looks like some long leaf pine restoration in the works…

I found my way back to the single track. I forgot how much fun this is to ride. I might give muddy exploration a break, until things dry up some, and get back to trying to improve my riding skills.

One mile to county road 83!

I made it to the main road, and took a detour to the beach. I was able to wash the grit out of the gears using the public foot wash…

I got back onto the same single track trail, and then saw an off shoot that I had never checked out before. It had the end obstructed with a couple of dead branches, but that didn’t stop me… I almost wish it did, because it was nice at first, then it turned to this…

I followed that until it turned back into a little firmer packed boundary service road. This opened up to a little development. I followed brick pavers for a while, until I met up with this guy…

Run away little guy, run away!

He ended up getting himself a little stuck at the edge of the road where there was a drainage basin. I picked him up, and set him at the hill side that was a straight shot to the pond he was aiming for. He slid down that hill so fast, he actually ricocheted off from a tree on the way down!

I made my way through that little community, and popped out on 30-A and took advantage of the paved bike path there. I got this shot looking out from a covered bridge on said path…

Enjoying the shade and breeze under the covered bridge…

I was soon within sight of the beach again…

I ate a sandwich on the bench that they built into this little bike path bridge.

From there it was just a couple miles of easy paved trail back home. Another nearly sixteen miles of bike riding (and pushing) behind me. I certainly worked some different muscles this time, but it feels good to be getting out and about. I’m getting to see sights that are within just a few miles of my house that I never saw before. That most people around here don’t even know exist.

It feels good to be one of the few privileged ones.

Leave a Reply

